The Jedi Lounge: Interview with Mindless Droid

Welcome to our first edition of the Jedi Lounge!
For the upcoming weeks, every Monday, we will post on the Jedi Lounge an interview with a fan talking about what the Prequels era (Episode I-II-The Clone Wars-III) meant to them. Today we start with Mindless Droid from Twitter ( @MindlessDroid ).

1. Which Star Wars movie did you see first?

Mindless Droid: I saw ANH when it came out in 1977. We went to a little independent theater in my hometown and amazingly it’s still operating today.

2. What Star Wars means to you?

Mindless Droid: Star Wars is fun. From going to the movies all the way to talking TCW with friends around the world it is just great fun.

3. What’s your favorite part of the Star Wars saga and why? (it can be one of the six movies or even one of the tv shows)

MD: In all honesty The Clone Wars is my favorite part of the saga. No other TV show got to me the way TCW did. I’m talking from the very beginning TCW will always be very special to me.

4. If you wanted a subtitle for the Star Wars movies what would it be for you?

MD: I want a Rex and Ahsoka movie to bookend TCW so I guess Star Wars: The Dark Times.

5. How important do you think it was to have the Prequels telling this story of the rise and fall of Anakin, the fall of the Republic … and why do you think it was important to tell this story? For you, how does it connect to the First trilogy?

MD: I had always wanted that story to be told. When ANH was released I got the book as well and the one and a half page prologue talking about the Republic and a certain senator becoming Emperor fascinated me. That and Obi-wan telling Luke about the Jedi and that phrase “You fought in The Clone Wars” well that intrigued me for years and may explain my love of the prequels and especially TCW.

6. What do you think of Hayden Christensen, Ewan McGregor and Natalie Portman’s performances in the Prequel trilogy for their respective roles?

MD: I’m not much into the acting side of things. I just know I liked the characters and the story they told.

7. Do you think starting the Star Wars story with Anakin as a boy was a good choice and why?

MD: Yes it show his innocence and gave you the backstory to build on.

8. What’s your view on the use of CGI, Practical Effects and how they fit into a story? Do you think the special effects were at the service of the story in the Prequel movies?

MD: To be honest I don’t care how they make a film what techniques are used. As long as I can immerse myself in the story it all looks good. FX are so advanced now they are a far cry from King Kong style stop motion (which yes I do remember). I think people who prattle on about CGI think it makes them look smart or hip, when in fact they probably couldn’t spot the difference between the two.

9. What’s your favorite aspect of the story in the Prequels and why?

MD: Has to be the rise and fall of Anakin Skywalker. It’s central to the entire saga. A real tragedy to go from innocent boy to the twisted and evil Sith Lord.

10. Do you think it was important to tell the story of The Clone Wars and do you think animation was the right medium to tell it?

MD: Being there from the beginning I was always fascinated by that simple line “You fought in The Clone Wars.” I always wanted to know more. Couple that with some historical background I remember cloning being a hot topic back in the 70’s it just made it that much more intriguing. Who were the clones and why was there a war. Animating TCW was the best way to go especially in a galaxy far far away with many different people and places. Pretty much anything they could dream up they could create and as we saw the crew became quite good at doing so.

11. What impact did The Clone Wars leave on the six movies for you? How did it change your way of watching the six movies?

MD: The most impact is on ROTS. Seeing Anakin’s heroics first hand his training and befriending of Ahsoka. and getting a deeper understanding of his brotherly relationship with Obi-wan makes that film so much more dramatic and heart breaking. Add in seeing his relationship with Padme and the subtle and not so subtle hints of his dark side boiling up to the surface adds a whole new dimension to all the films. It also makes the scene in ROTJ were Luke turns himself in all that more powerful.”I have accepted the truth that you were once Anakin Skywalker my father.”

12. What’s your favorite aspect of the story in The Clone Wars and why?

MD: The relationship between Anakin and Ahsoka is what pulled me into TCW. From the very first time I saw the “You’re reckless little one…” scene I knew this was going to be something special. Given Anakin’s future you knew this could not end well and that the show would get darker and more dramatic as it went on. We had already seen the apprentice betray his master but how would the apprentice deal with the masters ultimate betrayal. I only wish they had not canceled the show so we could see this story Clone Wars style.

13. George Lucas said about the six movies “It’s ONE movie and it’s meant to be seen I through VI.” Do you agree with this statement and why?

MD: Yup can’t argue with the maker.

14. How do you feel concerning the promoting of The Force Awakens in a kind of Prequel hate atmosphere (I’m especially making reference to what happened on SDCC this year)?

MD: Totally unnecessary pandering to a small vocal segment of the fan base.

15. Final question: What is your level of anticipation for the upcoming Star Wars movie – The Force Awakens?

MD: Lukewarm (see what I did there) I will always be somewhat put off by the canceling of TCW and especially how it was done and for the above mentioned “practical effects” pandering.

See you next Monday for another interview, this time will be with Juli Witte from Clone Corridor ( @CloneCorridor )

Leave a Reply

