The Jedi Lounge: Interview With Leonie Witte

After our interview last week with Léo Cote, this week on The Jedi Lounge, we’re interviewing Leonie Witte from the Clone Corridor team. I had met the whole team during Star Wars Celebration Europe last year in London, a great site and amazing people!

1. Question : Which Star Wars movie did you see first?
Answer : Revenge Of The Sith was the first one I got to see in the cinema. We started watching Star Wars at such a young age that I can’t remember which one I saw first on DVD but they were all watched continously throughout the years.

2. What Star Wars means to you?
A: it began as being something I was a big fan of and just had for entertainment. However the older I got the more I started thinking about all the story lines, the politics in starwars and the other theories surrounding characters. It’s become part of my daily routine. It also means family to me. Not just the Star Wars community (which I do see as extended family) but watching starwars brings back memories of being together with my dad and sister and watching it as a kid. So it means a lot.

3. What’s your favorite part of the Star Wars saga and why? (it can be one of the eight movies or even one of the tv shows)
A: I would have to choose between revenge of the sith and the animated clone wars series. Revenge Of The Sith I think partially because it was the first one I saw in the cinema but I think it also has one of my favourite story lines. So much happens in such a short amount of time and of course the fight between Obi and Anakin is absolutely amazing! I loved The Clone Wars series I loved the arcs and it helped me to  start fill in the gaps in my knowledge. It linked the 2nd and 3rd film much more for me and introduced me to a range of new female characters to look up to like Ahsoka and Asajj Ventress.

4. What do you think of having anthology movies that don’t focus on the Skywalker saga and tell other stories ? And which anthology movies would you like to see in the upcoming years ?
A: I think they are great! I absolutely love the idea of exploring new characters in the same universe but also seeing different film styles (action, horror etc) within the time frames.  I’d love to see an Obi-Wan Kenobi film and also to learn more about Asajj Ventress.

5. What did you think of Rogue One ? And how many times you saw it ?
A: I saw it twice in the cinema but hope to see it again! I really enjoyed it! I loved the different genre of film that it was more action packed and thought it created a great set up to Episode 4.

6.Rogue One showed a different side of the Alliance, a side that is more questionable, what did you think of that ?
A: I think it was good to show that every group whether it’s rebels or imperials isn’t perfect. They all have to do things that might be viewed as morally wrong in times of need. I think it made the Alliance a lot more ‘real’ and gave us more insight into what really goes on.

7. Were you satisfied with how Rogue One ended and with the fact that all the main heroes died ?
A: Yes absolutely. It was heartbreaking but realistic.

8. Rogue One brought back Tarkin to life with CGI and a young Leia at the end, what were your thoughts of this use of CGI ?
A: I at first didn’t even notice it at all. I thought it was a great way to bring those two characters back. I personally had no issues with it at all.

9. About The Force Awakens, how do you think it connects with the two other trilogies ? Were you satisfied about this opening to the Sequel trilogy ?
A: I didn’t enjoy TFA as much as I thought I would. I think it’s a great addition to the Star Wars films and it follows the pattern the other two trilogies are in. It was a good opener for the new trilogy but I didn’t enjoy the storyline that much.

10. Do you have any theories about Rey’s parents ?
A: I have a feeling her father is Luke but I’m not sure.

11. Do you think it is a good idea to have three different directors for the Sequel trilogy ? Or would you have preferred just one director for the three movies ?
A: I think it’ll be interesting to see their different takes on the storyline however it could cause some distortion and unevenness when watching all three films one after another. But it worked for the Harry Potter series!

12. What did you think of the portrayal of classic characters Han and Leia in The Force Awakens ? Did you think it was a good continuation of how the characters were in the Original Trilogy ?
A: I wish we had seen more of Leia and what her role is. We didn’t dive into what she is doing at all. For Han I do think it was quite realistic and seemed to fit well.

13. George Lucas said about the first six movies “It’s ONE movie and it’s meant to be seen I through VI.” Do you agree with this statement and why?
A: I personally always watch 1 to 6. I wouldn’t say they are one movie but they are one pong story following the path of a jedi turned dark and his personal struggles.

14. How important do you think it was to have the Prequels telling this story of the rise and fall of Anakin, the fall of the Republic and the rise to power of a tyrant … and why do you think it was important to tell this story? For you, how does it connect to the First trilogy?
A: I think it was very important to make darth vader a more rounded character and explain how something like that happens. A lot in the Prequels relates to modern day politics so I think it was very important to show those dynamics. I think it’s a good set up for the original trilogy.

15. What’s your favorite aspect of the story in the Prequels and why ?
A: I couldn’t choose a favourite aspect but I enjoyed being able to follow the tension that rises throughout the systems and to see how even the jedi order starts to get things wrong and make mistakes leading to the eventual rise of the empire.

16. What did you think of the performances of the main cast in the Prequels ?
A: I love Ewan Mcgregor I think he does brilliantly alongside many others. Hayden Christensen isn’t perfect however I think he does the character justice especially in ROTS.

17. What impact has The Clone Wars left on the movies for you? How did it change your way of watching the movies?
A: It gave me more insight into what happened between Episodes 2 and 3 and helped me understand the beginning of Episode 3 more and how come Anakin is quite different and has changed so much between the episodes.

18. What’s your favorite aspect of the story in Star Wars Rebels ?
A: I love that they were at first just a small group trying to make a difference and slowly through hard work become more and more involved in the larger scale rebellion.

19. About the Ghost crew, who is your favorite and who is the one you like the least ?
A: I honestly could not choose. I think all of them have such interesting aspects to them I couldn’t decide.

20. Where do you think Ezra’s story is headed in the future seasons ? Considering his name is Bridger and in Star Wars names have a meaning, what do you think he is supposed to bridge ?
A: I have a feeling it could go many ways. It seems like they’re setting him up to possibly join the dark side thereby bridging the path to darkness but I also feel like he could somehow create a bridge between the two and stay neutral. I’m excited to see what happens next!

Leave a Reply

