The Jedi Lounge: Interview With Andrew In Belfast

For our third week of interviews at The Jedi Lounge, we are interviewing Andrew In Belfast, owner of the website The Astromech Journal and co-founder of The Future Of The Force, a website on which I have written a few posts, great team! You can follow him on Twitter at @AndrewinBelfast.

1. Question :Which Star Wars movie did you see first?
The first Star Wars movie I saw was Return of the Jedi – I’m an 80’s kid and it took ages for me to get around to watching A New Hope – it was Empire Strikes Back and Return of the Jedi that I obsessed over as a kid.

2. What Star Wars means to you?
Star Wars for me is the best form of escape – a galaxy far far away, detached from the real world. For me the design of Star Wars is what reels me in – the world was so tremendously realised from the off  – its so easy to sink into and enjoy, because the world is designed so beautifully and completely.

3. What’s your favorite part of the Star Wars saga and why? (it can be one of the eight movies or even one of the tv shows)
The Millenium Falcon, dropping off with the rest of the garbage in Empire. I also have a soft spot for the Dex’s Diner scene in Attack of the Clones.

4. If you had to choose a subtitle that sums up the Star Wars saga what would it be for you?
Mysteries of the Force.

5. What do you think of having anthology movies that don’t focus on the Skywalker saga and tell other stories ? And which anthology movies would you like to see in the upcoming years ?
Don’t mind it  – but Skywalker Saga is king. I want an Obi-Wan movie – I know its a cliche at this point but I don’t care. Also the Star Wars Marvel comics have changed my mind about the Boba Fett movie – I want to see his mission to find out who the Rebel Pilot was (Luke) that exploded the first Death Star – seeing Vader smash that glass on screen would be worth the admission price alone. A Darth Revan film would also be fantastic, and I’m starting a personal lobby for a Sabine Wren standalone film. 

6. What did you think of Rogue One ? And how many times you saw it ?
Loved it. Saw it twice – I may go once more. For me the fun really starts when I can obsessively watch it at home – for me Star Wars has always been a small screen experience  – as it was what I grew up watching it on.

7. Rogue One showed a different side of the Alliance, a side that is more questionable, what did you think of that ?
It’s more realistic – I’m still not sure whether that’s a good thing. For me, those concerns resolves naturally in any event because Jyn and co force the Alliance’s hand – and then we can all move along together after that. My preference is for Star Wars to not align too closely with real world politics – I prefer it as a safe space.

8. Were you satisfied with how Rogue One ended and with the fact that all the main heroes died ?
Yes. Plus that “Hope” scene at the end had me in tears.

9. Rogue One brought back Tarkin to life with CGI and a young Leia at the end, what were your thoughts of this use of CGI ?
I loved it. The ethical issues have been blown out of proportion – legally I understand studios aren’t allowed to do it without consent of the estate until 70 years after the actor’s death. I think people need to get back to being stunned by special effects and thats what ILM always did for cinema – brought us awesome and fantastic effects. It is literally light and magic.

10. About The Force Awakens, how do you think it connects with the two other trilogies ? Were you satisfied about this opening to the Sequel trilogy ?
Yes. 100%  – plus it united the fanbase – a welcome by-product. The Force Awakens was sentimental in the best possible way – I loved it. A beautiful film. 

11. Do you have any theories about Rey’s parents ?
No – personally I’d love a Kenobi link but I think its a bit fanciful. 

12. Do you think it is a good idea to have three different directors for the Sequel trilogy ? Or would you have preferred just one director for the three movies ?
I’d have preferred just one – but they seem to be going for light, dark, and resolution in the director choice – I’d have been happy with Abrams – he just “gets” the Lucas and Spielberg vibe.

13. What did you think of the portrayal of classic characters Han and Leia in The Force Awakens ? Did you think it was a good continuation of how the characters were in the Original Trilogy ?
I think Leia should have been given more  – some of the deleted scenes. I’d have liked to have seen her interact more with the Resistance command and even the “Victory Kids” like Kare Kun.

14. George Lucas said about the first six movies “It’s ONE movie and it’s meant to be seen I through VI.” Do you agree with this statement and why?
To an extent, but a continuation showing the aftermath adds depth. We see the repercussion of the I to VI events and it casts light and shade on the events of the fall of the Republic, rise of Empire and the Rebellion. We see the long term consequences of those actions. It works.

15. How important do you think it was to have the Prequels telling this story of the rise and fall of Anakin, the fall of the Republic and the rise to power of a tyrant … and why do you think it was important to tell this story? For you, how does it connect to the First trilogy?
Essential – and as they mature the blend in better and better with the Original Trilogy. The lazy criticism of the prequels in the mainstream media drives me mad.

16. What’s your favorite aspect of the story in the Prequels and why ?
Kenobi – for me they tell his story as much as Anakin. 

17. What did you think of the performances of the main cast in the Prequels ?
I see no flaw in the performances – they embody the characters now for me. 

18. What impact has The Clone Wars left on the movies for you? How did it change your way of watching the movies?
The Clone Wars is essential viewing – as is Rebels.

19. What’s your favorite aspect of the story in Star Wars Rebels ?
Sabine’s backstory.

20. About the Ghost crew, who is your favorite and who is the one you like the least ?
Sabine Wren, and Ezra is probably my least favourite (sorry Johnamarie!)

21. Where do you think Ezra’s story is headed in the future seasons ? Considering his name is Bridger and in Star Wars names have a meaning, what do you think he is supposed to bridge ?
Death…I suspect he’ll link in some way  – I suspect the meaning also ties with the biblical implications of the name Ezra in some way. It’ll be fun to find out!

Leave a Reply

