The Jedi Lounge: Interview With Nate Burguete

This week we are continuing with our fan interview and this time we are interviewing Nate Burguete, you can follow him on Twitter @JEDINATE17

1. Which movie did you see first?
The first Star Wars movie I ever watched was Episode III, Revenge of the Sith. I was 7 years old. I walked into the living room where my dad was sitting on the couch and he was watching something on TV. So I say next to him and said, “What is that?” He looked at me and said two words, and two words only. No more, no less (see what I did there ;)). “Star Wars.” The rest is history.

2. What does Star Wars mean to you?
Star Wars means everything to me. It means an infinity of imagination. It means powerful and inspiring characters. It means beautiful and wild locations. It means the coolest technology and transportation. It means a complex and forever thrilling story. Star Wars means everything.

3. What’s your favorite part of the Star Wars saga and why?
My favorite part of the Star Wars saga is the characters. They are all so dynamic and so different in so many different ways. There’s so many of them but they are still so amazingly different, there’s so repeat of character. Each being is their own self, different personality, story and life from everyone else around them. One character in particular that amazes me is Ahsoka Tano. Ever since I first watched The Clone Wars, she has been and always will be my favorite Star Wars character ever. She inspires me so much and seeing her story continue in Star Wars Rebels and now her own novel, it’s truly amazing.

4. If you had to choose a subtitle that sums up the Star Wars saga what would it be for you?
A galaxy filled with war, love, heartbreak and hope.

5. What do you think of having anthology movies that don’t focus on the Skywalker saga and tell other stories? And which anthology movies would you like to see in the upcoming years?
I think it’s great that Disney is doing something different with their chance to make Star Wars films and showcasing different stories in different eras of the Star Wars universe. Rogue One was a great start and I look forward to many more Star Wars anthology films. An anthology film I would liked to see is either a film entirely about Yoda or General Grievous. Now those are characters we need to see on the big screen.

6. What did you think of Rogue One and how many times have you seen it?
At first I wasn’t sure how I felt about the movie but after a while I realized it was an awesome movie and the story was great. I loved the concept of these six ordinary beings in a vast galaxy doing extraordinary things. In the end it was a great sacrifice and Rogue One will forever be remembered for the Rebel Alliance’s victory. I have only seen it once but I hope to see it at least one more time before it goes out of theatre.

7. Rogue One showed a different side of the Alliance, a side that is more questionable, what did you think of that?
I think it was great to see more of the Rebel Alliance and how they operate within their bases and how they like to accomplish certain things. The way they used Jyn as a key to get to the plans was very shocking. Something the Empire would do…

8. Were you satisfied with how Rogue One ended and the fact that all the main heroes died?
I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t shocked with how it ended. I was not expecting ALL six of them to die. I thought maybe one or two but after a few of them died, I started seeing a pattern and getting a feeling that it wasn’t going to end well for any of them, literally. I guess it was nice to see that not every story ends with a happy ending. And it adds on to the sacrifice and makes it more emotional. The last two scenes with Vader and Leia was just PURE AWESOME! Vader was a bad ass and Leia was a huge surprise. I was very satisfied with the ending of Rogue One. I will never watch A New Hope the same again. 

9. Rogue One brought Tarkin and a young Leia back to life with CGI, what were your thoughts of this use of CGI?
With Tarkin I was okay with because I knew they could pull it off but with Leia I was very scared because that’s a lot to handle and the pressure is really on with this character and making it right. Lucky enough, Leia turned out to be AMAZING. The CGI was perfect and I was very very satisfied with how it turned out.

10. About The Force Awakens, how do you think it connects with the two other trilogies? Were you satisfied about this opening to the sequel trilogy? 
It connects with the originals and prequels because not only does it continue the Skywalker storyline but it also continues the stories of Han Solo, Leia Organa and Luke Skywalker. Seeing the three of them again was great. How they were each introduced again was perfect. Seeing Han and Leia on screen together again was gold. Pure gold. I was very satisfied with The Force Awakens and I think JJ Abrams did a fantastic job. It could not have been better. It was actually my very first Star Wars movie in theatres and I’m very proud to say that. 

11. Do you have any theories about Rey’s parents?
I was set on her being a Solo but now I know that is not true, seeing as that was not shown in the film and also Daisy Ridley (Rey) did state in an interview that she is not a Solo. My bet is on her being a Skywalker. Crossing fingers!!!

12. Do you think it’s a good idea to have three different directors for the sequel trilogy? Or would you have preferred just one director for the three movies?
Seeing as how well The Force Awakens did, I think they should have kept JJ for the rest of the trilogy because he clearly knows what he’s doing but I’ve heard that he is going to be a producer for Episode VIII so that is very reassuring.

13. What did you think of the portrayal of classic characters Han and Leia in The Force Awakens? Did you think it was a good continuation of how the characters were in the original trilogy? 
Harrison Ford and Carrie Fisher did a fantastic job with recurring their characters back into the Star Wars universe after 30 plus years. It felt like they never left the screen. The acting was on point and both did amazing with their characters and interactions, once again. 

14. George Lucas said about the first six movies “It’s ONE movie and it’s meant to be seen I through VI.” Do you agree with this statement and why?
I agree with this statement because George is right, it is just one big movie if you put them all together. It all makes sense. And yes, the way they should be viewed is starting with The Phantom Menace and ending with Return of the Jedi, but to each’s own.

15. How important do you think it was to have the prequels telling this story of the rise and fall of Anakin, the fall of the Republic and the rise to power of a tyrant? And why do you think it was important to tell this story? For you, how does it connect to the first trilogy?
I think it was very important for the prequels to exist. In fact, it actually makes watching the original trilogy easier because you understand everything more and you understand why certain things have happened or are happening and what happened to certain characters and so forth. It was important to tell this story because the story of Anakin Skywalker needed to be told. We needed to know how Darth Vader came to be and where the name Anakin Skywalker came from. Well that’s because that’s who he used to be before he was seduced to the dark side, as Ben tells it. Everything that happens in Episodes I, II and III leads up to the originals and it just makes sense to tell the entire story, from the beginning.

16. What’s your favourite aspect of the story in the prequels and why?
My favourite aspect of the prequels are the Jedi. They were so cool and each Jedi was so different, especially all the different species. My top 3 favourite background Jedi are Plo Koon, Shaak Ti and Luminara Unduli (sorry Kit Fisto!). 

17. What did you think of the performances of the main cast in the prequels?
I thought they were phenomenal. Hayden Chtistensen, Natalie Portman and Ewan McGregor were all great. Such amazing actors. I don’t see why Hayden gets so much hate for his performance. It was awesome! He delivered a great and memorable Anakin Skywalker. The acting was really great. Dialogue was good too. My favourite of the three is Ewan McGregor. He. Is. AWESOME. 

18. What impact has The Clone Wars left on the movies for you? How did it change your way of watching the movies?
The Clone Wars changed everything for me. It also filled a lot of empty plot holes and unanswered questions. Not only did they do a great job at putting spotlight on the true heart of The Clone Wars, but they also were heavy with the clones, order 66, the true nature of the Force and so much more. Clone Wars is such a beautiful series and really is great. 

19. What’s your favourite aspect of the story in Star Wars Rebels?
I really like Kanan and his story and his character as a Jedi but also as a rebel too. His character has changed so much since the beginning of the show and he’s also gotten so much wiser. The plot twist at the end of season 2 when he loses his sight to Maul’s saber was a major shocker and one I was not expecting. The people behind the show really threw me off there.

20. About the Ghost crew, who is your most favorite and who is your least?
My favorite member of the Ghost crew would definitely have to be Kanan Jarrus because he’s just such an awesome character and an awesome Jedi. My least favorite is Zeb Orrelios because he just seems so pointless to me. I would’ve been fine with just Kanan, Hera, Sabine, Ezra and Chopper. I really hope they kill him off.

21. Where do you think Ezra’s story is headed in the future seasons? Considering his name is Bridger and Star Wars names have a meaning, what do you think he is supposed to bridge?
I think I can speak on behalf of everyone when I say eventually Ezra will turn to the dark side and both him and Kanan will die. How? I’m not sure. I can speculate that maybe Maul or Vader will be a player in Ezra’s turn and use him to kill Kanan then once that is done, they kill Ezra since there is no more use for him. I never thought of his name in that way, that’s really good. I would say maybe he bridges into the dark side? I don’t know, that’s just my assumption/speculation. 

Leave a Reply

